Stages of Colon Cancer

Colon cancer is a form of cancer that invades the large intestine, which is the lower part of a person’s digestive system. Generally, this type of cancer is identified through testing that shows “polyps,” which can eventually turn into cancer cells. Unfortunately, sometimes medical error or negligence leads to a misdiagnosis or a delayed diagnosis of colon cancer. This can have devastating results for you as a patient, especially as it often causes a person’s colon cancer to not be found until it is in the later stages.

Our attorneys of Crowe & Mulvey, LLP know that patients in Massachusetts who have colon cancer that was misdiagnosed or not properly treated are likely overwhelmed and frightened. In this situation, however, victims of this medical negligence can often pursue justice and compensation for the undue harm they have suffered.

4 Stages of Colon Cancer

There are four different stages of colon cancer, each one progressively more threatening to a person’s overall health. The four stages include:

  • Cancer is in colon wall only
  • Cancer might move out of colon wall but is not on lymph nodes
  • Cancer is in lymph nodes
  • Cancer is widespread, possibly in other internal organs

While these stages of cancer can all be treated, patients have the best chance at beating and surviving the cancer when it is caught in the early stages.

Contact a Medical Malpractice Lawyer in Massachusetts

If you or someone you know has suffered from a misdiagnosis or delayed diagnosis of colon cancer, you could be due financial compensation. Our lawyers at Crowe & Mulvey, LLP, might be able to support you through this endeavor. Call us today at (617) 426-4488 to learn more about your legal options in dealing with this difficult situation.